Write about the following topic: In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Aged care living in certain countries is subsidised by the government. While a few people support this, others oppose it. In my view, elder relatives should pay for the care provided. This essay will elaborate further on my stance. When parents enter retirement age, it is an obligation of their children and other families to take care of them in their old age. Parents have provided their children with extensive love and care in their entire lives, not to mention the cost and energy spent. In turn, it is now the younger generations' responsibility to provide for their parents. Furthermore, there is a tendency for families to neglect their seniors when they retire. The obligation to fund the services of retirement homes constantly will indeed have a knock-on effect on the relationship between seniors and their families. Family members are constantly reminded of their elders, and there will be more inclination towards visiting their seniors. In addition, when the government funds aged care facilities, families have less control over the quality of care provided to their elders. For instance, If the government pays for the facility, they will generalise the services given among other retirement facilities, and this will depend on the economy of a country. Families will not be able to maintain a certain standard for their parents ' care. It is then suggested that the honour of supporting aged care services financially should be given to the relatives. To conclude, I think family members should pay for services in retirement homes. Not only does it remind them to respect their elder, but it also enables families to maintain the standard of care provided by aged care.