You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some museums and art galleries charge admission fees, while others have free entry. Do you think the advantages of charging for admission outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Museums and galleries are important to the public as they educate historical knowledge and promote arts. Some of these facilities charge people for entry, while others have free admission. In my view, I would argue that there are more benefits to including an entry fee rather than drawbacks. The advantages and disadvantages will be examined further in this essay. There are several advantages to charging admission fees in the two public buildings. Firstly, with better funding, administrators can constantly develop the facility. The content and art displayed, for instance, can be constantly renewed every season. In addition, the interiors and lighting of the building will continue to be renovated when necessary. Next, fees will restrict the amount or type of people entering galleries or museums. To illustrate this, some free museums can get overcrowded and visitors will have a hard time enjoying the content exhibited. Moreover, with free admission, children sometimes disrupt art galleries by running and making loud noises. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks to entry fees. Limited access means limited people can be educated and enjoy art exhibitions. For example, some people may be appalled by the entry costs of exhibitions. They become reluctant to visit these facilities which may educate their children or provide entertainment for them. Furthermore, with fewer people visiting the facilities, it can have a knock-on effect on the museums and galleries themselves. If there are not enough visitors, they would not be able to be maintained and upkeep costs cannot be covered. To conclude, I think the positives of admission costs outweigh the negatives. If the fees can be managed so that more people can afford them, museums and art galleries can continue to develop their facilities and content, which not only provide historical education, but also entertainment for society.