Over the last few decades, the media has promoted the image of young thin women as being ideal. What problems has this caused? What solutions can you suggest to this issue?

A slim woman is considered to be the most suitable model for a healthy body by many social media nowadays. In this essay, I will outline the drawbacks of such a misunderstanding as well as provide solutions to this pressing issue. To start with, I can offer a host of demerits of the behaviour which encourage people to lose weight. Firstly, following strict diets leads to the lack of necessary fats and sugars which are needed to tackle regular tasks. There is no denying the fact that low-nutritious foods affect not only the cardiovascular system but also mental health. For instance, in many developed countries, the level of females struggling with anorexia has risen over the last decades. Moreover, the promotion of a woman`s thin body condition is a great concern for gender equality. As these stringent requirements are imposed on one gender only, it means that the pressure on women is increasing drastically, resulting in their mistreatment. Regarding the aforementioned disadvantages, I can propose some vital measures to eliminate their negative impact. Obviously, government regulation could be an essential part of media monitoring. I firmly believe that a state's intervention can reshape the structure of advertisements. As an illustration, German authorities have recently obliged various TV shows to introduce plus-size models to their promotion campaigns. I have not seen any statistics yet, however, there are no doubts that these measures are going to improve the situation. Additionally, humankind should focus on appropriate education to ensure a healthy lifestyle. If teachers promote the consumption of enough nutrition during the day, both youngsters and adults will pursue this idea, improving their well-being. In conclusion, I find it necessary to emphasize the fact that a young slim woman being ideal is insufficient. This perception leads to unhealthy diets and gender concerns, and to deal with these challenges, it is needed to introduce new media laws as well as change educational systems.