In many companies today, applicants are often rejected due to old age. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, youth criteria play an undeniable role in the selection of a job applicant. It is a fact that many industries have required maturity limits for their applicants. I believe that this is a negative trend for the association might lose tenured personnel, yet it has a positive effect as it gives opportunities to talented fresh graduates in the field. Rejecting quality staff because of old age can give a negative impression that they are not being valued by the association. For instance, employees would feel demotivated to give the group their best work quality. Thus, this would result in making the firm their training grounds to garner work experience before they will settle in a more stable company which requires no age restrictions. Moreover, employers cannot expect loyalty from workers since retirement has never been prioritized in its business core values. Consequently, the organizations will lose valuable manpower whom they have trained and nurtured for several years. On the other hand, giving a priority to young professionals can bring innovation to the business. Most fresh candidates are more skilled when it comes to the use of technologies such as their familiarity with the newest technological applications, innovative strategies through the use of media and the up-to-date millennial ways of interactions with potential clients. As a result, they tend to be more attractive to the labour market as several job opportunities have been looking for such 21st-century skills that tenured employees are unlikely to contribute. To conclude, although I agree that losing an old employee may direct to negative development, however, I somehow acknowledge that hiring new professionals will also result in valuable contributions to the organization.