Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation’s history. However, some people think they should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over the tactics to deal with myriads of old constructions. While some claim that numerous antique buildings must be retained in order to preserve, the opposite makes a statement that people need to destroy old buildings to give their place for the new ones. While the former is valid to some extent, I consider myself an advocate of the latter. Without a shadow of a doubt, it is vital for the government to protect a bunch of old buildings which play the important role of a historical nation. Given the fact that, people can know more about the milestones upon which different civilizations were built. For example, the Viet Nam National Museum of History is preserved for more than 90 years so as to retain a lot of books which are relative to the historical nation. As a result, defending many old buildings is taken into consideration. While the importance of the ancient towers is widely acknowledged, the national authorities should destroy them which bar the country from developing. Because the high demand for land to live off the citizens is ever-increasing and myriads of old towers cannot meet the demand of the residents. So pulling down can resolve these serious problems. For instance, Royal city and Times city experience great changes from the small area without top-notch facilities to the housing complex. Thus, destroying the pre-existing places is necessary for adding accommodations. In conclusion, although preserving the historical sites are put into the priority, the government should consider replacing them with new houses or offices in order not to discourage the country from flourishing.