Artists need a certain amount of freedom to develop their creativity. Some people think that artists should have total freedom to express any thoughts and ideas. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Art is an essential way to express various ideas and thoughts of individuals in life. Indeed, their unique ideas and experience have been well reflected in different forms of art such as paintings and sculptures for long centuries. However, it is often controversial that artists should be given total freedom to present their original opinions and thoughts. I generally disagree with this view for the following reasons. On one hand, it is undeniable that restrictions imposed on artists to express their individual minds can limit their creativity. If artists are demanded to stick to certain rules and social morals, their artworks become less original and as a result, they provide less impact on viewers. Promoting creativity without such restrictions allows artists to create many valuable works that are passed down in the future. For example, Guernica, which depicts a horrible scene of war, is a highly plausible artwork recognized around the world regardless of the intense violence and bloody victims represented in the painting. On the other hand, although such expressive artwork is unforgettable because it delivers an important message, painters should also be concerned about the negative effect on some audiences. In other words, immoral and violent paintings are offensive to those who have actually experienced horrible war. Unfortunate and painful memories of war killing their families may be brought back to them. Moreover, remembering the sad event in the past from the painting discourages people to move forward. Therefore, the government should put some limits on artists so as not to harm the feelings of the public. In conclusion, there are great values and important messages in artworks whose producers express their thoughts more freely. However, their right to expression should be balanced between promoting the creativity of art and protecting the public.