Rich countries often give money to poor countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other other types of help to the poor countries rather than financial aids. Agree or disagree?

Opinions differ on whether developed nations should provide poor countries with monetary support or they should shift to other types of support. Although such financial aid can yield certain benefits, I do not agree that this option is not the most efficient in solving poverty, as there are better ways to do so. Admittedly, the government in less developed regions, especially poverty-stricken ones, can enhance its budget for essential sectors by receiving money from fully industrialized nations. Vietnam, for example, has directed monetary sources donated by Japan along with its national public funds to develop a wide subway network in Ho Chi Minh city, which facilitates the traffic there. Nevertheless, just supplying monetary assistance to poor countries can have some devastating side effects, especially corruption, without any supervision on how the money is utilized in these areas. In fact, this can be observed in Nigeria, where many politicians take advantage of financial backing to spend on their own purposes rather than on solving their countries’ issues. As a result, such monetary funding could not help eradicate poverty among poor economies effectively. However, other types of aid such as humanitarian and educational programmes should be provided to impoverished regions. Regarding the former, several necessities like food and drink can be delivered to those who are under the poverty line in some nations. The United States of America, for instance, has transported food staples to Somalia, which is one of the least wealthy states in Africa. With regard to the latter, the young in low-income countries should be provided universal access to good-quality educational institutions. The United Kingdom is an example of this, as its government has distributed many scholarships to many poverty-stricken societies in Asia, which creates opportunities for young Asians to study in prestigious schools there. In conclusion, despite some advantages of affluent countries’ financial aid, I believe that the government in these regions should consider giving other kinds of supplements, especially humanitarian and educational support, which are better solutions to impoverishment.