By punishing murderers with death penalty, society is also guilty of murder. Therefore, life is prison is a better punishment for murderers. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Although the public is also culpable of murder by sentencing lawbreakers to death, incarceration is a healthier option. In my opinion, life imprisonment will serve to rehabilitate violent criminals and reintegrate them back into society. Firstly, the fundamental basic right of a human is freedom and if this was taken away, the individual will lose all the senses of hope and well-being. Therefore, life behind bars is a better judgement for all forms of violent criminals provided that they are locked in a rehabilitation box. In South West Africa, a prison was created for hardened criminals that served to teach and distribute them into groups based on their limitations. These groups include farmers, artists, writers and even athletes. Each group was designed to contribute a quota of the country’s GDP. In other words, they are useful to the community and themselves. Moreover, when I was growing up in New York, there was a prison yard overlooking the city that reminded the prisoners what it means to be free and they were also educated on ways to avoid coming back there after they have been released. Secondly, captivity will also help delay judgement for those that have been wrongly convicted because of insufficient evidence or witness. In addition, felons find it difficult to get a job after they have served a term in prison even though they were innocent. Therefore, a lot has to be done to integrate them back into society by teaching them to be self-reliant and learn certain hand work. In North Wales, Ludlow juvenile detention centre had employed volunteers to equip child convict with skills that would help them survive in the outside world and this was aimed to reduce the circle of violence in our community. In summary, despite varying opinions, I believed that imprisonment for life will rescue innocent victims and help to rehabilitate culprits that will contribute to the growth of a nation while keeping the public clean of any wrongdoings.