To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The world's population has reached a new high and with the increase in number of people, there are incremented demands for food. While, the responsibility of food provision falls on the government, they are only left with limited number of resources to provide from. I believe, in such situations expanding our sources is the key solution. On the one hand, many individuals argue that the ruling parties should use insects to cover the food scarcity. This is because, they are believed to be an active source of protein in the absence of solid livestocks or carbs. Due to their vast availabilities they can be easily hunted and consumed by people without having to pay markets for exports. Additionally, this helps maintain financial stability in low-income homes. For example, about 71% individuals in Mexico are willing to try edible insects. This is due to the provision of poverty in a developing countries as Mexico. However, there are certain drawbacks to this arguement that can't be neglected. Firstly, not much research is done on the fact if most edible insects carry enough protein in them to sustain a human body. If the government were to legalise them as a food source, money has to be spent on such research which might not yield favourable outcomes. Secondly, active hunting of some species can have a severe affects on their numbers and can push them to be endangered or even extinct. Some of these creatures are only observed during particular seasons, therefore when they are not available, the government would still need to provide for their people. For instance, white lady bug is only readily seen during spring season i.e. once a year. In conclusion, there are many arguments supporting the fact that the government should use these creatures as edible resources but we can't forget about the innumerable damages it can cause for nature. In my opinion, insects can be available as a rare meal but shouldn't be relied on as a source of active edibles.