Individual should take care of the environment or it is the government’s responsibility. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Increasing pollution leading to environmental degradation is one of the most pressing issues in modern society. Many people think that it is the responsibility of the masses to take care of the environment. Others are of the view that primarily it is the government's duty to protect the surrounding. In this essay, I will elucidate that both the authorities and individuals are equally liable to save nature. It is an undeniable fact that human activities have an impact on the surrounding. So it is our moral responsibility to take ownership of our actions and make efforts towards protecting the Earth. For instance, there are various Non- government organizations which work towards spreading awareness within society. If people choose to avoid using plastic bags and non-biodegradable plastic products, plastic waste will reduce. Also, preferring public means of transport rather than using private vehicles will certainly help in controlling air pollution. On the other hand, the government is responsible for formulating rules and regulations to effectively govern society. Since they have the power, it is their duty to provide a clean and healthy habitat to the citizens. To Exemplify, the government of India banned the use of plastic bags in 2010. As a result of this, plastic waste is reduced drastically. Along with that, they have promoted the use of alternatives like paper and Jute bags. Moreover, the government can organize various awareness camps to educate the masses about the importance of a clean environment. To conclude, individuals and the government should work together so that we can provide a safe and healthy Planet to our future generations.