Many people argue that free public transportation should be available in most major cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this idea?

As public transport is widely used for the sake of citizens, the public argues whether free public freight should be available, especially in big cities. This essay will try to identify the advantages and also the disadvantages of this topic. Promoting cost-free public vehicles eases traffic congestion, especially during peak hours. Public transportation can commute dozens even hundreds of people at a time, meanwhile private cars are usually used by only 1 to 2 people. In addition, mass transportations usually operate in designated lanes and integrate intermodal transportation routes thus it can reduce people’s commuting time. Moreover, as people spend zero expenditure on transportation, they can allocate the money for other things such as meals. This strategy is surely attractive to the public as it provides perks in terms of money and time. On the other hand, free-of-charge mass transport greatly affects the cash flow of public transport providers. Ticket fee paid by the passengers is the biggest source of income in the industry that is critical to pay salaries, maintenance, etc. Without proper and sufficient maintenance, more frequent accident is about to happen. Additionally, government, which has to fund the policy for it to be well-implemented across the city, might face a dilemma as the policy might disturb other government agendas and increase the possibility to take foreign debt as it is a high-cost policy. In conclusion, providing free public vehicles draws advantages and disadvantages. On balance, however, I tend to believe that public freight should not be free of charge but setting a reasonable price so it is still an attractive option for the citizen.