Some businesses prohibit smoking in any of their offices. Some governments have banned smoking in all public places. Do you agree or disagree that this is the right course of action? Give reasons for your opinion

The practice of smoking is prohibited in certain establishments, including offices, and legislation has been enacted to restrict its use in publicly accessible areas. It is evident that an efficacious plan has been devised to address the adverse consequences of pervasive smoking. The first reason is that it is well-established that smoking is harmful to anyone in the vicinity. Consequently, the enactment of prohibitions serves to protect those who are afflicted by cigarette smoke. For example, the majority of workplaces comprise employees of varying ages and health statuses. Therefore, exposure to fumes and inhalation of smoke may present a significant risk to the well-being of numerous employees within a given work environment. It is therefore incumbent upon those engaged in the process of determining personnel policies to safeguard their employees by implementing a smoking ban. A second reason is that the environment and sustainability are placed at risk when members of the public engage in smoking. Such detrimental actions often result in an increased volume of litter deposited in natural areas, such as parks. For instance, those who smoke often dispose of cigarette butts and their cartons in an unhygienic manner, thereby damaging their immediate surroundings. Furthermore, children who wish to enjoy these zones are harmed by this practice, resulting in exposure to tar and other unhealthy substances. Therefore, the protection and maintenance of these public zones must be considered by the government in terms of a comprehensive ban. In conclusion, it is of the utmost importance that members of society who engage in smoking be guided to respect the sanctity of areas such as parks and office space, which must be established with a legislative ban.