Nowadays more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects on society and family life?

More and more contemporary attention has been placed on the phenomenon where married couples postpone their parenthood. In this essay, several driving causes will be given to justify this tendency and its impacts on family and social life will be briefly discussed. Initially, raising a child is believed to put an onerous financial burden on parents, especially when the cost of living is continually escalating. Therefore, many young couples decide to have babies at a later age with the aim of building a strong financial foundation before giving birth, thereby affording better childcare and education for their offspring. In addition, today’s newly-married ones would prefer to enjoy parties or journeys without the stress induced by parental responsibilities. Indeed, spending some nights out or travelling abroad may turn into a real challenge once a baby is born, because spouses are required to devote their whole time, efforts and expenses to nurturing that infant. This trend, in fact, brings about both advantageous and detrimental effects on households and communities. On the one hand, giving birth at a later stage in life means that parents have more time to acquire knowledge and experience in child caring and parenting. This, as a result, can create a healthy society in which children are well-educated and will sooner or later become decent citizens. On the other hand, it has been proven that women conceiving babies late would be prone to several health issues such as diabetes or high blood pressure, and the infants might suffer from certain birth defects or even have a shorter lifespan. Consequently, this situation would probably put a lot of pressure on healthcare systems as well as the general development of society. In conclusion, later-life pregnancy can be attributed to the aforementioned factors, and it can either facilitate or impede the progress of both the family and the general public.