The government should control the Internet to reduce cyber crime and ensure safety of users. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Today's world relies heavily on the internet. Like a coin with two sides, the internet has its own merits and demerits. The first and most significant disadvantage of the internet is cybercrime. We see numerous cases of money theft reported worldwide, facilitated by advanced internet technologies, particularly related to money transfers. In this essay, we will discuss how to reduce cybercrime and ensure user safety through government control. To begin with, cybercrime contributes to around 40 percent of crime cases reported worldwide. One major reason for this is the unrestricted availability of the internet. Because of this, people with a thief's mindset take advantage of it to steal money. For instance, the state of Uttar Pradesh in India has reported the highest cybercrime rate among its peers due to the significant amount of money stolen via the internet. Authorities can impose some rules to control internet usage, such as regulating the dark web, which is directly involved in cybercrimes. Besides, one shouldn't forget that the current generation enjoys many facilities because of advancements in the internet and technology. On the other hand, if the government controls internet accessibility, it will make many nations similar to North Korea, leading to frustration among people, especially the younger generation. For example, one can see a clear difference in the regime of North Korea compared to the remaining 126 countries. As a result, our world could become less peaceful due to an increase in crime reports. The major reason for this is that we didn't grow up in such an environment, so a quick change in people's regimen would create more issues. To sum up, in my opinion, it is good to implement some rules for the usage of the dark web and sites that do not ensure ethical hacking or legal internet usage. However, I disagree with the statement that the government should control the internet to reduce cybercrime and ensure user safety for the reasons mentioned above.