Some people believe that it is a good idea for young people to take a year off to travel or work between high school and university. Others say it is better for students to go straight on to university after graduating from high school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some today have argued that taking a one- year break before starting university is important for students, although others believe that it is insignificant. Personally, I feel that there is no need to take a year off as that gap will be useful later in life. To commence with, some believe that the effective utilization of a year for travelling and gaining experience after high school graduation has a positive impact on students’ life. Every person requires refreshment to begin a new journey, and youngsters are no exception. In addition to this, travelling to another city or country can not only boost their confidence but also improves their mental health, which is indeed paramount for a successful education. Additionally, a such specific time can be spent in some volunteering work, which is also beneficial to understand life skills like communication, self-reliance, and independence, and therefore students have prepared very well for the upcoming challenges in the university and gain the ability to handle any situation positively. However, those who are concerned more about education suggest that without a year off, the young generation has directly got enrolled in advanced courses. By doing so, students can straight away complete their studies earlier so that later they can contribute this year to the job hunting process, as it is likely time-consuming. Moreover, their concepts of each core subject are clearer because of no gap, and hence they can easily understand a new curriculum. To conclude, I believe that engaging in educational activities without any unnecessary gap has far more advantageous for a student as they have an opportunity to use a whole year at a later stage of their career rather than wasting it at the initial stage of their career.