Nations should spend more money on skills and vocational training for practical work, rather than on university education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions differ on whether the government in each country should allocate budgets to educational institutions focusing on vocational skills or whether they should be spent on higher education, especially universities. Although the former yields certain benefits, I believe that they are far eclipsed by more important advantages provided by the latter. Admittedly, the time required for completing vocational training programs is usually shorter than their counterparts. One of the reasons is that the learners concentrate on developing practical abilities, while unrelated subjects are not compulsory, which contrasts with higher education. In addition, learners involved in this kind of education can have first-hand practical experience more than in universities. For example, those who specialize in auto repair have opportunities to use tools and equipment to fix car engines or to attach car parts. However, these benefits are far outweighed by more essential ones offered by university education. It is observed that university degrees have more value compared to those of vocational schools. For instance, it is common that corporations with financially viable jobs require candidates to have bachelor’s degrees as a privileged prerequisite. Moreover, undergraduates at universities are required to acquire theories related to their majors before practising their skills, which can help them meet the demand of the knowledge economy around the world. In conclusion, despite the fact that vocational training gets students to focus on the skills needed to fully prepare them for their careers and provides first-hand experiences to enhance these abilities, former education, especially universities, prepares post-graduates with higher-value degrees and knowledge to satisfy the need of the knowledge economy.