Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinions.

There are two opposing views on whether graduates should stay in their home country where they had been trained. Some people argue that those trained experts, such as doctors or computer engineers, should stay, whereas others claim they should have the right to choose their workplaces in any country. On the one hand, there would be some advantages to local society if those professionals stay and contribute their capabilities to it. First, these well-educated people can take more responsibility for the society’s public infrastructure, such as the healthcare system, and public transportation, leading to a better quality of life for all the citizens. Another reason that having professionals stay would be advantageous is that the countries' resources used to support the education systems, such as school maintenance, teachers’ salaries and those students’ tuition fees, can be paid back by those graduates’ contributions. In addition, the local knowledge and unique techniques can be kept domestic, maintaining their national competitiveness as a result. On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages to forcing them to stay in their home country. First of all, forbidding a person in a place is challenging and unrealistic because it is really hard to monitor if they are staying or not. Moreover, people might not work hard for a job or a workplace they do not engage in. Second, this would also reduce their opportunities to collaborate internationally with other experienced experts from different cultures, leading to their further improvements of skills becoming slower in their fields. That means the country may not be benefited from their learning of other countries’ cutting-edge knowledge. In conclusion, even though many benefits may come with requiring graduates to stay in their original country, the enforcement is difficult to be executed. Furthermore, allowing those professionals to go abroad can expand their horizons, and eventually have positive effects on their home society. Therefore, in my view, I tend to support the notion that giving those graduates the freedom to choose their own career path.