Advertisement become more and more common in the society.do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Today, there are an increasing number of advertisements that can be seen everywhere. This essay will explain why I believe this is both a negative and a positive trend. On the one hand, adverts have some beneficial effects. Firstly, advertising will use attractive methods to promote products or services, so when people read ads, they will increase their desire to buy, thus increasing the purchase rate of products or services. At the same time, ads will also let people know about many products they have not heard of, giving them more choices and increasing product sales. If demand for goods or services increases, this will boost supply as well as output, contributing to economic growth. More employment opportunities will be generated, so that unemployed people may land a job easily, increasing their incomes, which can also improve the economy. However, on the other hand, there are also several drawbacks. Advertisements usually associate desired qualities such as beauty or wealth with material belongings, making us believe that owning those belongings can give us certain qualities. They may even consider material belongings far more important than other perspectives of life such as social life. If people have become materialistic and cannot afford an expensive lifestyle, they may think they are inferior to others, which can impair their self-esteem. In conclusion, based on the above evidence and analysis, I believe that there is no doubt that an increasing number of adverts can provide us with more choices and boost the economy to some extent. Whereas, if people purchased too many products or services only due to the endorsing, they would become materialistic.