Some parents want their children to read only serious educational books at all times. They don’t want their children to read any entertainment books because they think it is wast of time. Do you agree or disagree?

Reading is an essential skill children have to develop. Some parents prefer educational books rather than amusing materials for their children to read. They do not believe entertaining books will benefit their children and would be a complete waste of time. I strongly disagree with this statement since there are some benefits to reading entertainment books. To begin with, it is true that educational books are important for children in order to learn meaningful aspects of life and to develop essential skills at a younger age, such as critical thinking and problem-solving ability. However, reading amusing books has benefited children in developing artistic minds. To illustrate, stories can make a child uses his/her imagination which would be a great way to learn how to be a creative person. For instance, drawing is a skill that needs creativity and without,imagination it will be limited to what the child sees in life. in addition to that, children can get bored easily so reading educational books constantly could lead them to hate reading. Also, being able to choose what they like to read has a great impact on developing an independent personality which can make them feel confident and would teach them how to choose by themselves. To sum up, children should be able to choose the books they want to read in order to make them appreciate reading and to help them to become creative.