There is less social contact between young and old. What are the reasons? What measures can be taken?

Modern technology has changed the way of living a life significantly. It has departed the majority of the world's families and convinced them to communicate wirelessly. Therefore, there is seen a lack of social communication between youngsters and elders. This essay will first discuss how social media and the generation gap affected us from having social contact, and then offer necessary steps such as education and awareness that can be useful to prevent this scenario. Current advancements in technology allowed us to stay connected with everyone digitally. Internet on mobile phones enables the young community to communicate with their elder relatives. Whatsapp and Skype, for instance, are the most popular video and audio calling technological features. This has departed our social meeting between us. Moreover, the generation gap between today's adults and the old community is much higher and they are not able to get along with each other easily because of their different mindsets and hobbies. There are some measures that can be taken into consideration in order to mitigate this scenario. One of those is educating younger folk regarding the importance of social contact with the elderly. For example, academic subjects regarding the importance of the same can be added to the school's curriculum. This helps youngsters to learn morals, ethics and soft skills from their older family members. In conclusion, technological advancement in the present era and the generation gap between adults and elders are the main reasons behind a lack of social presence. However, this can be mitigated by imparting knowledge through academic subjects in schools and creating awareness regarding its importance among young people.