Supermarkets should only sell food products from within their own country rather than imports from overseas. What are your opinions on this?

There are variety of foodstuff sold in supermarkets. However the majority of products are imported from other countries. I strongly believe we need to look into alternative solutions rather than importing essential food products from overseas. I will discuss this further in my essay. Majority of the people have created a habit to buy products from supermarkets due to the fast-moving lifestyle, but what they do not understand is how effectively it could destroy our health and minimum the life cyc le of a human. The reason could be simple, imported products have to sustain for a long period of time compared to local products. This could be mainly due to the time that takes the product to import into the country. In this case, chemicals have to be added to preserve the nature of the product till it gets to the consumer but the supermarkets attract the consumer to buy the product by keeping the display attractive. We need to encourage our local farmers. This can be only accomplished by finding a way to connect the consumer and the supplier. Sri Lanka has a good solid, hence any food products such as vegetables and fruits can be grown at home and the results are better than the overseas products. Also, the products are fresh and in less time supplier can deliver to the consumer and maintain a short due date for the product. Majority of countries suffers from cancer and other diseases due to the chemical intake in the body. This cannot be solved overnight but we can limit the intake by supporting local products. Considering the above facts, we need the encourage the consumer to buy more products which are hygienic and quality. We can do awareness programmes on food products and the effects that can cause on health, not only limited that. Government can involve and initiate a programme to encourage people to grow at home and also support farmers by taking the product at a good rate. At some point, this initiative could improve massively and help the economy to upsize the people's lifestyle.