Some people claim that there are more disadvantages to having a car than its advantages. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having a car.

Nowadays many people argue that cars are one of the factors that cause rapid climate change and air pollution, however, others say that owning an auto can offer a sense of freedom, safety and a lot more. On the one hand, owning an automobile is the safest way to ensure your health during the pandemic. This is because taking public transportation can put you more at risk of infection. You may meet potential carriers when you take buses and other forms of public transport. If you own a car, you can take control of who gets in and out of your car. Secondly, owning a car is self-reliance and independence. For instance, when you take public transport, you may worry about reaching your stop on time. If you miss your bus, you may throw your schedule off your schedule by fifteen to thirty minutes. Last but not least, If you love to travel, getting a car will be a great investment. Whether you’re planning a trip alone or with loved ones, a car will make the whole ordeal easier. However, on the other hand, cars consume a lot of energy before they even make it to the open road. Automotive production leaves a giant footprint because materials like steel, rubber, glass, plastics, paints, and many more must be created before a new vehicle is ready to drive. Secondly, vehicles are America’s biggest air quality compromisers, producing about one-third of all U.S. air pollution. The smog, carbon monoxide, and other toxins emitted by vehicles are especially troubling because they leave tailpipes at street level, where humans breathe the polluted air directly into their lungs. Finally,most of an automobile's environmental impact, perhaps 80 to 90 per cent, will be due to fuel consumption and emissions of air pollution and greenhouse gases that climate scientists say are driving global warming. To sum up, having an auto gives someone freedom but if the public transportation system is easily accessible, safe and efficient, then the idea of buying and owning an automobile should be abandoned.