In many countries today, the retirement age from work has been raised. Do the advantages of raising the retirement age outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, regulations for the increasing legal working age have been imposed in some countries, causing disputes between advantageous and disadvantageous effects on society. To a certain extent, this occurrence has more positive aspects than drawbacks. To begin with, extending the retirement age could potentially face some challenges. One possible downside worth mentioning is the potential performance decline among aged workers. Indeed, human concentration capability and health conditions, including mental and physical health, tend to diminish with age, leading to slow productivity. In other words, the old workforce is prone to occupational accidents. For example, 70-year-old taxi drivers could cause severe traffic accidents due to decreased observation abilities and reflexes. The second downside is the limitation of job opportunities for young labourers. It means this situation could lead to a high unemployment rate among young workers, putting pressure on the unemployment insurance fund and decreasing the growth rate of the domestic economy. On the other hand, it is firmly believed that regulations to increase the retirement age could offer more benefits. The first advantage is economic conditions could remain stable. This is because the older workforce could continue working to have financial stability. Thus, governments could alleviate the strain of pension systems and social security funds. For instance, older employees working and earning monthly incomes would not need to draw pension funds and subsidies. As a result, governments could invest these savings in other sectors, such as healthcare or education, to improve the living standards of their citizens. The second advantage is their well-being, and mental health could be enhanced. This implies they would have enough funds to satisfy their personal interests and feel proud of themselves because they still have the adequate ability to contribute to their hometowns. In conclusion, despite recognizing the downsides, such as decreased performance and limited job opportunities for youths, extending the working age can bring more positive effects than negative ones.