Topic: Many children and students are taught to push themselves to be better than others rather than work together for everyones’s benefits. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Many children are often taught by their parents or teachers to work hard on their own and get better than others, while less effort has been devoted to educating them about cooperation and teamwork. From my way of thinking, this approach to education certainly has advantages, but the disadvantages seem to be more significant. In this essay, I will delve into my thoughts in detail. We begin with the pros of the argument. In today's society, competitions happen at every school and workplace. That said, pushing oneself to be better keeps one's mind sharp and helps one perform best. In that way, one can possibly stand out when competing with others. Take the university entrance exams in many Asian countries for example, a student definitely has to stand out in order to get accepted by a top-tier institute and he or she has almost no room for failure. Therefore, having a competitive mind is necessary. On the other hand, pushing too hard can do more harm than good. One obvious downside is that it creates excessive stress, which could cause health issues. Apart from that, children easily get more isolated when they are digging deep into their own work. From time to time, they become less social and could have trouble communicating with others. Today we live in a society where everyone is a part of the whole and being able to communicate and work with other people is essential. Without proper social skills, life could be difficult. To conclude, although children do need to push themselves to get better, this has to be done carefully. Parents and teachers have to be mindful of the amount of pressure they put on children. At the same time, they definitely need to educate them on the importance of social abilities and encourage them to cooperate with their mates.