In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Living in an old age home where basic medical care is available is preferred by certain people in Britain, which is sometimes funded by the government. Since most people going to these facilities do not have families with strong financials, this essay will argue why the government should fund the care that they get. People who have enough money, go to resort-like nursing homes, not government -funded ones. These individuals are financially capable of "enjoying" their life after retirement and prefer to relax at a place that provides more amenities than the mere basic ones which are available in government -supported places. Italy, for instance, has a plethora of such high-end care facilities which are preferred by a lot of American and European people. Thus, old people having a pile of money never choose a care facility that is supported by the government. On the other hand, even though the facilities provided by the state-supported old-age home might not be extravagant, they meet the basic need of elderly people. These nursing homes provide the much-required care that is not possible to be given in their limited-income household. For example, hiring a nurse at home is extremely costly whereas they have access to a caregiver in these facilities. Therefore, the government should continue to fund such care facilities. This essay discussed that government -supported nursing facilities are not preferred by financially capable individuals, whereas these old-age homes provide much-needed shelter and support for people coming from families with lower incomes. I strongly believe that the government should continue to spend on the care of its old people.