Governments should be responsible for funding and controlling scientific research rather than private organizations. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Government plays a vital role in our environment and helps our society grow financially. Many argue that the council should take responsibility to provide finances and rule science instead of personal companies. I partially agree with the statement as the government's first priority should be scientific research. Firstly, private organizations are fully funded and have a strong baseline whereas researchers are dependent on authority a heavy amount of money on equipment is required. For example, giving finances to scientific research resulted in vaccines for covid. If the funds were provided to a private organization they would have doubled the sale rate of vaccines. On the contrary, if the government are using there finances and resources it can not fully monitor its performance and serve society whereas if they provide money or sign a tender for a privately owned organization it can do regular check as its business deals in one type of business. For example, by signing a project or lease for testing water purification a privately owned company can spend more time and energy improving the resources and making a better environment. To conclude, the government should be accountable for funding scientific research but experiments regarding science should be conducted by both legislative bodies and private organisations to have healthy competition as well as a better place to live in.