Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In terms of dealing with crime, some people think that the best way to reduce it is by giving longer sentences, but other individuals argue that there are other alternative solutions for this issue. I personally assume that the first viable idea is more reasonable, however, the reasons for those two perspectives will be explained below. On the one hand, those who believe that longer sentences are much more effective to diminish crime might have some reasons. The first strongest one is longer sentences could give change the offenders to build certain skills. This is particularly important because after they realise from prison they will have certain skills, which this new activity not only will provide them with a source of income but also this activity will make them ignore conduct crimes. The second viable reason is the contemplation section. To illustrate, the longer the inmate is in jail, the more they could reflect on what they have done and they will regret it and this might discourage them to commit other crimes. On the other hand, people think that there are two possible alternative ways to decrease crimes. The first one is the death penalty. This particular action could make people afraid to do crimes, as a result, the number of crimes will be reduced. The second compelling way is restricted to public access. To illustrate, the prisoners would not have health access, pensioners aid programmes and they do not have a chance to vote. Through this action, the new possible criminal will think twice to engage in crime. In conclusion, I personally believe that longer sentences could be the best way to reduce the crime rate in terms of building skills and introspection. However, people argue that the other alternative ways are better such as the death penalty and limited access.