Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Other say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It has been seen that the increasing number of environmental issues poses a great threat to our generation. Although some people believe that losing certain species of animals and plants is the most serious problem we are faced with, I am of an opinion that we have to solve other severe problems firstly. On the one hand, many people agree that the loss of various species of wildlife would lead to detrimental effects on our environment for many noteworthy reasons. The most remarkable one is that it is likely to threaten our whole ecosystem because the population of plants and animals is related to complex contexts. To use a common example of this, when a specific animal or plant is endangered or even extinct, it easily results in successive destruction of the food chain, and our ecosystem might be filled with a kind of chaos. A further point is that the number of domestic animals and edible plants also reduces at a lower point, and it ultimately brings about the scarcity of food resources. Consequently, it is currently the most significant issues for us to lose the species of plants and animals. On the other hand, other people disagree with this statement for many reasons. The most important reason for this is that we are now struggling with more critical environmental problems, which degrade the quality of our living environment. For instance, nowadays, we consume large amounts of fossil fuels to use many transportations like a car and run factories, and the fossil fuels contribute to releasing exhaustion fumes and greenhouse gases. Furthermore, it is also difficult for us to dispose of a huge amount of waste, especially biodegradable things including plastic containers and plastic bags, which also emits toxic chemicals when burnt out or buried in landfills. These gases and chemicals from fossil fuels and rubbishes worsen global warming which is more and more damaging on even our life as well as the environment. Therefore, we are facing much more serious problems than losing the number of animals and plants. In conclusion, when all the specific reasons and relevant examples are considered and evaluated, I firmly believe that we should focus on other environmental issues now rather than the loss of species in our ecosystem because there are more severe problems we must solve.