Some people think that printed books are no longer needed in the digital era, because all writing can be stored electronically. Others think printed books will still play an important role. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Thanks to the development of technology, nowadays people can store information electronically. Books, as an important source of knowledge, could also be digitalized and stored in electronic devices. Therefore, some argue that paper books are no longer needed since e- books could replace them, while I believe that printed books are still irreplaceable. Indeed, e- books have its advantages. Compared with ordinary paper books, e- books are cheaper and offer better value for money. Most importantly, it will not take too much space to store them, so it is much easier for people to store and carry more ebooks. But clearly, electronic books have serious drawbacks as well. First, e- books are damaging to readers' eyesight. If someone stares at the screen for too long, it will be harmful to his or her eyesight or even cause more serious eye diseases. Fortunately, reading paper books is much less damaging to readers’ eyesight. Therefore, it is also an effective way to rest one's eyes and protect them from being harmed by radiation from a screen. Also, reading e- books might decrease people ’s interest in reading. Recent studies have shown that people will be less enthusiastic about what they are doing when staring at a screen for a long time. Also, compared with paper books, e- books are more likely to be intangible, so people's interest may drop when they are not able to touch them by hand. In contrast, paper books are tangible and readers could be more relaxed when reading them. Imagine you are sitting on a comfortable couch, reading a paper book in the soft sunlight, so it will be more attractive for readers to read paper books. In conclusion, no matter how advantageous e- books are, paper books will still remain irreplaceable in our lives.