It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that a considerable amount of local funds should be spent on preventing diseases rather than spending on the cure of patients. I strongly agree with this viewpoint. To begin with, there are many reasons for raising money for averting illnesses. First of all, investing in prevention is a more sustainable approach to health care because it focuses on long-term solutions rather than short-term fixes. In fact, a community which is completely averted might have a low risk of disease and longer life expectancy compared to a group of already ill people who are cured. In addition, spending on treatment for intractable sicknesses often requires a huge sum of money while preventing is usually more effective and always costs lower. For instance, to prevent different types of cancers, people should have a healthy diet and maintain fitness by doing exercises or going to the gym, which are economical activities, while patients faced with cancers have to pay enormous payments to prolong themself. On the other hand, giving money in dealing with diseases might has its own merits. In some situations, investing in treatments for existing illnesses may be necessary to address the immediate needs of patients, rather than long-term prevention strategies. For example, a person who is suffering from pneumonia should be cured immediately instead of giving him a preventative plan. Furthermore, raising money on treatments may not only rescue patients, but also help to find out more effective ways to deal with the disease. By this way, many people who are putting up with intractable illnesses might be cured and enjoy the beautiful life they should have. In conclusion, while local money should be invested in order to prevent people from diseases, the merits of spending it on therapies of people who are already ill should not be denied.