In the future all cars, busses and trucks will be driveless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

The advancement of technology in the transportation industry has drastically changed the ways of commuting from one place to another. It is predicted that in the future there is a possibility of the presence of automated vehicles with no drivers. However, it is no doubt that there are some crucial drawbacks and in this essay, I will discuss how the benefits do not outweigh its drawbacks. Firstly, the incorporation of digital and artificial intelligence into automobiles will surely reform high-functioning vehicles but, there is an increased frequency of errors and malfunctions which will be a potential danger for the passenger. Furthermore, with the lack of energy or a fast internet connection, the new technology ceases to work efficiently. For instance, if a driverless plane loses its signal in the middle of its flight, there will be a great loss of lives as it will result in an unfortunate crash which could be prevented if a human was there to accompany the ride. Secondly, with the automation in this industry, there will be a steep drop in job prospects which leads to other social issues like unemployment and crime. When there are fewer opportunities for taxi drivers or pilots, the risk of redundancy and homelessness increases. On the other hand, commuting in a driverless vehicle will provide a pleasant experience for the passenger as they can rest,relax and enjoy the view rather than worrying about abiding by the rules. Less labour is required so it is an optimum option for those who lead a busy life. This is exemplified by the great results obtained by the newly developed automatic transportation of food waste by robotic lorries in the USA. In conclusion, the complete replacement of human factors in the transportation industry is a future possibility with the revolutionizing technology however, the benefits do not outweigh the drawbacks due to the impossibility of replacing human emotions and increasing error rates.