A number of tertiary courses require students to undertake a period of unpaid work at institution or organisation as part of their program. what are the advantages and disadvantages of the type of course requirement? give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge.

Nowadays, the education system is highly competitive everywhere in the world. Unlikely in past, now students are required to work a few months in the industry related to the course they are following. This has become a controversial topic among people as it contains both advantages and disadvantages. This essay is to discuss both aspects with examples. To begin with, let me look into the positive side of having an internship as a course requirement. According to my perspective, the biggest advantage of being an intern means a great opportunity to learn about industry practices. For an instance, most information technology-related degrees/ courses teach basic concepts and theories in the classroom. However, the usage of those theories and lessons is completely different in a working environment. Getting hands-on real-world scenarios definitely results in course completion, as a result, upon completion of the internship will benefit future job opportunities. On the other hand, working in an unpaid occupation could be stressful for some students. The reason for that is, some companies take the advantage of free work. As an example, an organisation can hand over an unbearable amount of workload to these undergraduates, in order to declare their completion of the internship. Hence, unpaid workers become frustrated and stressed, which directly affects performance. To conclude, tertiary courses should have a requirement for students to work for an organization during their studies, which supports enhancing their practical knowledge and obtaining experience from real-world scenarios. On the other hand, companies should consider providing some sort of salary to these students, as they provide a service to the organization. Moreover, education institutes should partner up with companies to make agreements to provide internships with a payment which benefited both parties.