Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

In this day and age, new technologies are being rapidly developed. With those developments, however, comes testing. One long-standing method of doing so is experimentation carried out on animals. Protesters criticize that this approach is unethical and should be discontinued and prohibited; whilst advocates view that only through these experiments, scientific discoveries are made. For me, both sides have their own unique appeals, as I will elaborate further in this essay. On the one hand, critics argue that animal rights are disrespected when it comes to experimentation on animals. What's more, they believe scientists are committing animal cruelty by carrying out these tests behind closed doors. Therefore, the opposition states that animal experiments should be outlawed. On the other hand, supporters debate that performing tests on animals is justified if any scientific progress is to be made. For instance, newly developed medicines risk dangers to humans unless they are thoroughly tested first-hand on animals. To be more specific, COVID-19 vaccination wouldn't have been considered safe if it hadn't been injected into animals before arriving in the human body. In other words, it is through animal experiments that we can fully understand and observe the possible effects of newly developed drugs and medicine. In other news, new technologies have paved the way for alternative, less extreme approaches. One of which is computer modelling. What this means is scientists can now partially simulate the effects of recently discovered cures on virtual humans without risking any harm to animals or humans. However, this method is not without flaws: computer simulations cannot truly simulate the metabolism of living organisms, as well as unknown long-term side effects. Because of this, alternative experimentation methods like this remain an interesting topic, as they are currently nowhere near as stable as traditional ones. In conclusion, while it might be easy to deem animal experimentation as cruel, it is also vital to consider that this is the only reliable method of testing which scientific breakthroughs require. Therefore, taking into both sides is absolutely advised before you make a decision in this controversy