Question :Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teachers play a crucial role in modern communities, and it can never be too exaggerated that they receive as much appreciation and respect from society as possible. However, some people begin to claim that they are not appreciated and valued as before. To be honest, it is indeed the truth, and there are several factors responsible for this consequence. I will elaborate on my ideas in subsequent paragraphs. Firstly, due to the emergence of electronic classes and immense resources on the internet, the role of teachers is partly substituted. While in the past, learning only occurred in the classroom, and teachers were the only ones who instill knowledge in students, currently the combination of teachers and a variety of the internet resources, such as online libraries, learning games and etc is the number one priority for teaching. Consequently, to some extent, the value of teachers is discounted. Plus, students even can point out their teachers ' mistakes made in class by searching for online papers. Thus, in this sense, teachers are no longer the sore source for students today to gain their knowledge or skills. Secondly, students no longer put the same emphasis as in the past on education. Previously, for the majority, education is the only way to fulfil upward mobility. But now, changes are that there is a colossal amount of chances that can bring you success. Alibaba's Jack Ma is a case in point. He graduated from Hangzhou a normal university, a low-ranking college in China. He more than once openly said that it is one's capacity rather than the high education degree that is his company's golden hiring standard. Not surprisingly, teachers will be less appreciated nowadays due to multiple values. Thirdly, the government is also linked to the phenomenon that teachers are not appreciated more than before due to the low pay of teachers. Teachers, also mothers, and members of families, also shoulder the responsibilities of affording their children's education and expenditures of families. Hence, more and more teachers are giving up their teaching positions and running toward the other workplace. However, the demanding moral requests from society lead to a bad impression of teachers. Obviously, the more teachers leave the position, the fewer positive comments will be given to them. In short, the compelling arguments mentioned above- the internet as an alternative for teachers, less importance of education, and the low salaries of them contribute jointly to the less appreciation that teachers receive today.