Some people believe that the range of technology available to individuals today is increasing the gap between the poor people and the rich people. Others think it is having an opposite effect. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinions differ on whether the diversity of technology accessible to people aggravates the inequality between the rich and the poor or narrows such a gap between the two parties. Although some individuals would agree with the former due to several reasons, I believe that technology actually bridges the chasm between the two social classes. Admittedly, the technological range may isolate wealthy and impoverished individuals due to the lack of universal access and unemployment. Regarding the former, the elite and people in the upper class can possess state-of-the-art technologies due to their financial background, which means that they have social status shown via their assets. For example, people tend to respect Elon Musk, who is one of the billionaires in the US, due to his wealth invested in exploring outer space. Meanwhile, the poor may not have enough money to purchase exorbitant commodities, thus being less superior to the rich within a society. With regard to the latter, while those who are in poverty tend to be responsible for labour-intensive and manual jobs like plumbers and construction workers, they are increasingly replaced by machines with higher productivity and more accurate performance at work. This is because such equipment benefits corporations more, and it helps reduce costs and financial remunerations. As a result, the wealthy, especially capitalists, tend to become richer and richer, while unemployed and poor individuals stand at the other end of the spectrum. However, although there are risks that the development of automation broadens the gap between well-off and poverty-stricken individuals, this phenomenon does not mean that the latter totally lack technological means of enhancing their living standards. One of the reasons is that because the Internet has been widely accessed by the impoverished, they can attend ubiquitous free-of-charge courses online in order to educate themselves before getting a certificate related to certain professions that they prefer. In addition, as social websites have increased transparency in governance and brought down corruption, the government has been motivated to support the poor so that they can have a good-quality living standard. In conclusion, despite certain claims that technological advancement is responsible for the rich-poor gap due to unequal access to automation as well as unemployment, I believe that the opposite effect is in fact taking place, as such development creates opportunities for less wealthy people to educate themselves and find a sustainable job as well as prompting the government to support them.