In some countries, children often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving the children this message?

One of moral value that has been taught by many parents to their kids is that the kids are able to accomplish everything when they work hard for it. The benefit is that they will have a strong mentality. This is because the children will have a great will and effort to get what they want. For example, when they want something from their parent, the children will try to fulfil their parent’s requirement as good as they can, such as when they want a bike that requires them to have good attitude, so they will try to give a good attitude. Therefore, children will have good mental foundation to face the adult live later. Another benefit is children will have good level of intelligence. For example, when they want something but feel struggle to complete the requirement, they will force themselves to provide it with any possible way. By doing that, the children will develop their creative mind that is very useful for their further academic world. The harm for children is that the children will have lack of empathy for others. This means that children will have view that they must do everything by themselves to get anything, instead of using or asking any help from others. For instance, when they want to win a competition, then they will try to win that alone by practising alone or studying alone without any need of help from their friend or family. So, the children will assume that the others must do the same attitude of working all alone too. The other harm is children will be overproud of themselves. It’s like when they work in a team, they will have difficulties working together especially when there is team member that doesn’t have same level of skill or will. Consequently, the children will feel hard to join the community. To conclude, there are benefits for teaching the children about hard work to achieve everything such as they will have strong mentality and good level of intelligent mind. Meanwhile, the harms are the children will have lack empathy and difficult to join the community. Thus, I personally believe that parents should not put much pressure on their life in order to prevent those outcomes.