We live in a world in which we are constantly exposed to advertising. To what extent does advertising influence our choices as consumers and what effect does it have on our lifestyle? Discuss this issue and give your opinion.

There is a continual exposure of advertisements to people in today's society. I believe that the choices offered to the public over certain products and services define the purchases they make, and sometimes it can lead to over-consumerism, which is not ideal. In terms of the commercial, consumers are provided with choices according to their needs, whether it is online or offline. For this reason, people get to choose how they want to buy items and services. As a matter of fact, most people get random advertisements on something they never consider purchasing while they surf the internet, which can trigger them to check out instantly. For example, 70% of giant online stores in Indonesia such as Tokopedia and Shopee rely on Youtube's influencers to promote their goods, in order to increase brand awareness or even to make instant sales. Modern lifestyle has emerged with the advancement of technology. However, overspending time on gadgets, such as mobile phones and computers can lead to over-consumerism. This happens because companies take advantage to advert on platforms people normally use on daily basis, like social media, computer games, and commercial breaks on TV. Thus, can lead adults and even children to make one purchase after another, without them realising it. For instance, some children in Indonesia can spend more than two hundred dollars on the items purchased for a game, using their parents' credit cards attached to their phones. This lifestyle often makes people forget that some things are not as essential as their daily needs, which can cause household debt in the long term. In conclusion, the public eyes in the modern era are open to the neverending advertisements. This influence the number of purchase society makes, which I believe is an unhealthy lifestyle, as it actually can lead to overspending on unnecessary goods and service.