Nowadays, a lot of buildings, such as offices and schools, are now being built with an open plan design. Why is that? Do you see this as a positive or negative development?

It is undoubtedly clear that buildings with an open-plan design are totally common and popular in this modern world. Currently, we can find one easily in urban buildings, such as offices and schools, unlike in the older generation era. The following paragraphs will discuss why this concept happens and also its positive outcomes. First of all, the reason why this design concept is now widely-applied is because of people’s desire to interact more with each other. As we can clearly see, technology somehow can distract humans from their reality. They tend to keep busy with their gadgets all the time. As a result, they become more and more individualists. From that fact, workplaces and educational buildings are in urgent need of tackling that issue. Fortunately, building places with fewer walls indeed is a wise solution. Following the background concept, open-space buildings trigger people to collaborate more as they generate certain people to make eye contact and initiate a conversation. Because of this, a collaboration between students and also employees will become stronger. Besides the collaboration that will occur, this development can as well improve mental stability and happiness for each individual. Since each person has no border with the other, they will engage in social activities positively. To illustrate this, in school, a pupil will find it more enjoyable and pleasurable, when they are asked to do a fun activity like drawing or colouring with their classmates, rather than in a closed space without other partners. In conclusion, an open-space blueprint happens because of individualist behavior in this modern generation. Luckily, that idea contributes many good impacts, such as improved collaborative interaction and mental satisfaction. Referring to those aforementioned effects, there is no doubt that more and more constructions these days are using this concept.