Nowadays, many people communicate using social media and the Internet on a daily basis. However, this led to an increase in online attacks and cyberbullying. What are some of the reasons why people take part in cyberbullying? What are the effects on children and teenagers who are victims of cyberbullying? - at least 250 words. - spend around 40 minutes.

In the modern world, online forms of communication are used regularly to connect with friends, acquaintances and strangers. One downside of this phenomenon, however, is that bullying now takes place on the Internet, instead of in the playground. This essay will outline some of the reasons why certain individuals participate in cyberbullying and describe how the victims are negatively affected. In terms of the reasons for this phenomenon, many children bully others simply for entertainment. Bullies can also boost their ego and popularity by teasing one of their peers. This behaviour has become more common online because teenagers feel they are anonymous on the media and therefore believe they will not be caught or punished. Another reason is to get revenge on one of their peers. For example, if a student feels slighted or insulted at school, they may take to the Internet to get their own back. Again, this is because they feel that parents and teachers will not be aware of their actions if they take place online. Nevertheless, this kind of behaviour can have a detrimental impact on the victim. Most obviously, it may result in low self-esteem as the victim will feel humiliated in front of the entire world if they are bullied in public online. This can lead to addiction to drugs or alcohol and, in extreme cases, suicide. Another negative effect on the victims is that they might find it hard to communicate with others. The reason for this is that they may fear that their words will be twisted and used against them, no matter what they say. As a result, some students simply shut down and become isolated from the rest of society. In conclusion, cyberbullying in particular is on the increase due to the anonymity the Internet provides, but the negative effects on victims can be disastrous. Therefore, schools and parents must be properly trained to be able to identify this kind of behaviour and intervene before tragedy strikes.