Do you agree or disagree? people spent too much time on personal enjoyment doing things they like to do rather than doing things they should do.

There has been an argument that people have spent too much time on personal pleasure rather than on necessary or important things that they are supposed to do. This essay will elaborate on my opinion towards the statement. It is understandable why it has been widely argued that people spend too much time on enjoyable things more than things they should do. It is undeniable that the advent of modern technology and the internet plays an important role in this circumstance as both of them facilitate people to access or do their enjoyable thing easier. Take social media as an example; countless people are so addicted to this virtual life that it is able to take a vast majority of them per day. Statistically, people spend approximately 10 hours per day scrolling their social media feeds, the teenager in particular, resulting in which there are countless drawbacks, both physical and mental that cannot be ignored. I, on the other hand, believe that it is not true. To illustrate, although people might spend most of their time doing their favourite things, it is not as much as the time they spend on things they need to do. Compared to the approximate lifetime of 80 years old, people already spend their first 20 years studying and another 40 years working before retirement, which accounted for 80% of their lifetime. I, therefore, disagree with this statement as the necessary thing that people are supposed to do is already taking the vast majority of our lifetime. Moreover, studying or working even causes countless stressors which can be ameliorated by enjoyable things that they like to do. In conclusion, there has been a debate that people spend too much time on personal enjoyable things rather than things they are supposed to do and I disagree with the statement.