Advertising is becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is this a positive or negative development?

People have different views about advertisements and their effects. Nowadays they are ubiquitous so that people can come across them everywhere and I believe that this development is very negative because of two reasons. Firstly, they tend to make people buy the latest things such as clothes, even though they do not want them to them affordable. Ads are often manipulative because they are usually made interesting by adding special effects, so they can easily affect people's choices. This, in turn, results in a huge waste of money for consumers as they immediately try to achieve instant gratification by getting the products advertised, but are likely to regret it very soon due to poor quality. For example, I recently bought shoes online, about which I had got information from ads placed on TV and then it turned out to be a bad decision since the shoes were not as good as they were expected to be. Secondly, advertisers often aim their marketing at children. The main reason is that most children can be easily influenced by ads, although they are nothing but flashy. Children, for instance, may watch an ad about an interesting, yet expensive, toy and immediately pester their parents to buy the toy. Of course, this causes some financial problems for parents, who have much pressure without toys too, like providing food for their children. Worse, the children are likely to use the toy for a short time because they will probably watch television again and see another toy advert. If it happens many times, it often causes some health problems for parents, such as stress and anxiety. In conclusion, the increasing popularity of ads is harming both adults and children. Therefore, I feel that this has been a very negative development since it started.