Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

In different areas of the world, authorities prefer to make an investment in railways instead of roads. In my opinion, railways are more logical to invest in, and we will discuss why in this essay. Firstly, building a railway would be far cheaper than building roads. Considering the limited fund of governments, choosing railway as a transportation investment may lead to controlling their budget properly. This results in having an opportunity to spend money on other facilities that enhance the welfare of the community. A second point is that trains are more suitable for long distances due to their cheap fuel and speed. In the United States, for instance, the most widely-held transportation option is the railway because of the enormous land of the country. If society needs to travel between states which are far from each other, it is reasonable that the train system will be the first choice. Finally, it is thought that trains are more comfortable in terms of their cafeteria services, bathroom existence, and comfy chairs, causing travellers to take account into all of these facilities and to select the train line instead of the road trip. Admittedly, roads are the only available way for tough geographical conditions such as a mountain. Nevertheless, its upsides are overweighted by its drawbacks. Moreover, these areas are mostly unpopulated, or only a few people live there. In conclusion, cost-effectiveness, comfort, and suitability for the long haul are fundamental upsides of railways. Although roads can be desirable on some occasions, the railway is worth being given a subsidy by authorities.