Smoking should be banned in public places- Do you agree or disagree?

In spite of being aware of the harmful effects of smoking, it is very common in current times. Some people opine that smoking should be banned in common areas, while others believe that smokers should have the liberty to smoke where ever they want. However, in my opinion, one should refrain from smoking in public places. This essay will elucidate my assertions in the forthcoming paragraphs. Smoking should be allowed in restricted locations only because it not only causes hazardous effects on the smoker but also people around them. The intoxicants enter the respiratory system of the person standing beside the smoker. As per WHO, smoking causes 80% of harmful impacts on smokers, whereas the effects on non- smokers are 20%. Moreover, for non- smokers, exposure to smoking could lead to various health implications headache and nausea in the short term and cancer in the long term. Thus, smokers should not be allowed to smoke in common locations where it could hamper the lives of non- smokers. In the current times, the young generation is quite vulnerable, so puffing cigarettes in public locations can influence them to try smoking. This can hamper their lives in the long run if it becomes a habit. For instance, nowadays, in metropolitan cities, it is very likely to see the school and college-going students smoking. The reason is that they have witnessed such scenes in common areas and find it cool to try them out themselves. Thus, smoking should be banned in areas which are easily accessible to the masses. In my view, even before the regulatory authorities put a ban on smoking in public places, smokers should refrain from carrying out such an activity for the benefit of society at large.