More and more measures to improve the security in large urban areas have been introduced in many countries because of increased crimes. Do the benefits of these measures outweigh the drawbacks?

It is observed that security measures have been increasingly implemented in many nations to tackle growing crime rates. Although there are certain shortcomings that stem from this phenomenon, I believe that they are far eclipsed by its benefits. Admittedly, certain plans to ascertain social safety have affected the privacy of foreign tourists in a particular host country, as they would claim that their personal activities can be recorded without their permission. A good example is that some people on their honeymoon travel to another country like France, and they usually want to feel comfortable without being watched by surveillance cameras all the time. In addition, those who argue against this practice may believe that setting security cameras and getting police officers to patrol the street may do harm to the environment. This is because such action can contribute certain chemical waste like gas and smoke to the air, which causes its quality to deteriorate. However, the aforementioned drawbacks are far outweighed by some important advantages of taking action to apply some techniques and methods to ensure social safety. One of the reasons is that public cameras like CCTV can act as a deterrent against criminals because they may intuitively be afraid that their identity and wrongdoing would be recorded, which means that the police can effortlessly catch these offenders. Therefore, crimes can be less likely to be conducted, and society can become safer. In addition, it is apparent that due to technological advancement, many criminals have possessed certain equipment and learned how to carry out crimes without being caught. In Vietnam, for instance, many criminals decide to undergo cosmetic surgery so that their identity would not be exposed to the public after engaging in criminal activities. For this reason, sophisticated technological devices should be equipped in securing society. In conclusion, despite some disadvantages of taking security steps in many nations, I personally believe that these are minor shortcomings. Meanwhile, this can help protect ordinary people, prevent offenders from carrying out wrongdoings and detect criminals in an effective way, which is more essential.