In recent years, there has been a rise in the use of performance-enhancing drugs in sports. What are the consequences of doping for athletes? What measures should be taken to combat this issue?

Nowadays a growing number of sportsmen are using drugs such as anabolic steroids to improve their performances in sports. The effects of this include penalties faced by athletes and unfair competition among other athletes. There are a number of solutions which should be implemented to deal with doping problems among athletes. Firstly, using drugs is against the rules and those who commit it would face consequences from the authorities because of their action. Additionally, they may not be allowed to take part in competitions for a period. For instance, banning national athletes from prestigious tournaments such as the Olympics and World Championship impedes their career development and leads to financial loss for the country which had spent a large amount of money to train them. Another point to consider is, that the rampant use of drugs among sportsmen creates unfair competition in a game. Consequently, the spirit of sports which is built based on teamwork, discipline and abiding by strict rules will be weakened. There are two effective remedies to the doping problem among athletes. One way to tackle this is to ensure stricter enforcement by the authorities such as doing more regular drug screening and random urine tests. By doing this, it will leave them no chance of escaping from the drug tests thus making them more compliant with the rules. Another method of dealing with sportsmen who use drugs is by imposing a heavier penalty on the offenders. This measure would hopefully deter them from taking any drugs that are not permitted in the competition and ensure that other athletes will compete in peace of mind after getting rid of the offenders. In conclusion, a transformation in legislation and heavier penalties can be effective in preventing future doping by athletes.