Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

some people say that social media platforms like Instagram or Facebook have too many demerits for human society. However, I think these technologies have both positive and negative sides and it depends on the individuals. On the one hand, In recent decades, especially after 2000, social networking sites have become more and more popular and the majority of the users of these sites are young. Using this technology everybody can make friends worldwide. Also, these sites and Apps help people get to know the culture of different countries of the world. In addition, one of the most important benefits of social media is that you can access the news very quickly. On the other hand, social media can affect people (especially the young) by changing their lifestyle and vision of their lives. Moreover, in today's society, we witness to this that most children use these sites more than four hours a day. Therefore, we can claim that social media is the most time-wasting tool in the recent century. Additionally, due to the liberty of users to post everything on these sites, especially on Twitter, we can not separate true and false information or news. Also, this liberty in posting or tweeting can harm under-18 individuals because, they see images, videos, and jokes which are not appropriate for their age. In conclusion, I think social media is one of the most brilliant inventions of this century. It is true these sites have a lot of benefits for human life, but, there are some demerits which can affect individuals living in a bad way.