In some parts of the world it is becoming popular to research history of one's own family. Why might people want to do this? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, it is becoming common for people across the globe to research the background of their ancestors. In my opinion, this development is caused by several reasons, and it offers benefits while also having its own drawbacks. This action is possible due to the development of technology which has enabled people to find who their ancestors are. Furthermore, the feeling of curiosity pushes people to search about their background because they might want to know where they came from or who they were. Besides, since the majority of the population does that, it further encourages others to take part in that trend. On one hand, it is beneficial to learn about someone's origin because, if they know their origin, they will know themselves better, and, thus, they could possibly find out about the field of work in which they are suitable. As a result, it is possible for them to invest their time in nurturing a more focused skill set. However, learning about one's origin could cause a dire issue. Knowing their bloodline and origin might turn people more inclusive. For instance, in several countries, there are groups of people who only want to interact with those from the same race or background, and this action leads to racial issues, which has happened in major countries. In conclusion, the growth in technology plays a big part in helping us to find out our origin, but we need to utilize the information wisely because, although it could boost our capability, it could also endanger us.