Some children spend hours every day on smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It has become increasingly common for children to spend a vast amount of time daily on smartphones. In my opinion, this is a natural consequence looking at the growth of technology paired with the way technology products affect the brain, and it is certainly a negative trend within society. To begin, the main cause of this development is access to portable devices. Since the introduction of the iPhone, countless phone manufacturers have imitated Apple's innovation and every household possesses multiple devices. The owner of these devices is typically overworked and stressed parents who utilise phones and tablets as an aid to keep their children entertained so they can catch a break or manage other tasks within the household. Additionally, research has also shown that fast-paced videos and games on apps trigger dopamine in the brain leaving children constantly wanting to consume more. These two factors combined are most likely the reason why children ’s screen time keeps increasing. The repercussions from the escalation of smartphone usage are mainly negative. Firstly, technology products have replaced healthier habits. Children raised before this era were more likely to read books, socialise with friends, be outdoors and use their imagination to play. These activities are far healthier physically, mentally, and emotionally. It is also known that mental health problems such as anxiety are directly linked to online usage. In conclusion, children use smartphones for hours every day due to their accessibility and the result of this is a steep decline in healthy lifestyles. In my opinion, this is a negative trend. As governments cannot restrict usage, it is up to the parents to effectively regulate screen time for their children.