In most cities and towns, the high volumes of road traffic have become a problem. What are the causes and what actions could be taken to solve the problem?

Traffic jam is one of the majors issue that many people face everyday in urban areas. This essai will discuss the cause of this phenomenon before giving possible applicable solutions. There are many causes that create traffic problems in a big city. One commonly cited cause is the issue of overpopulation which has led to increased production of vehicles to satisfy the demands of clients. Moreover, another important cause to consider is that people preferred to use private cars to move instead of using public transport which directly creates traffic congestion. Furthermore, the synchronised work timetable provokes traffic jams in rush hours especially if the road is designed for less mass traffic which could lead to accidents. Several solutions could be adopted to reduce this problem. Firstly, it is essential to reduce the manufacturing of new vehicles and recycle the old ones in order to adapt their number according to the maximum capacity of the town. Secondly, governments should improve public transport services to motivate people to use them by increasing their effectiveness and punctuality. Furthermore, building new traffic infrastructures and widening roads is necessary to reduce the strain and accidents at peak hours. Finally, balancing the schedule of workers at different times out could decrease the habitual strain that provokes congestion. In conclusion, various reasons cause the high volume of traffic of roads in urban cities such as the augmentation of population, the use of private cars and the congestion during rush hours. However, governments could resolve this problem using many solutions.