The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Gaining high driving criteria can be obtained by forcing drivers to pass regular safety courses, while some people come to the terms with the fact that it would be more effective to scare drivers with stricter penalties. I firmly believe that it would be more effective to charge drivers for breaking a driving law rather than enrolling in regular basis driving courses. On the one hand, the proponents of taking regular driving courses think these courses as a civilized way to reach this aim. As most individuals have learned a wide range of knowledge at school or at university, it would not be strange that they are able to learn this matter in an institute. In addition, people should be trained before driving and have to acquire a driving licence for it. Therefore, they can learn the necessary rules by taking courses and it would be a more civilized way to reach this intention. On the other hand, some people believe that stricter punishments may play a key role in this sense. They think that people will not comply with a rule unless there is a penalty for committing it. Punishments were always tools for authorities to reign in a county or control bad habits in societies. Furthermore, statistics reveal that people are more sensitive when they are about to lose money or go to prison. Consequently, by presenting more excruciating sentences for bad drivers, the governments may receive their desired result sooner. In conclusion, I believe that harder punishments could be more effective than just making drivers pass regular precautionary driving classes. Additionally, I suggest that besides severe punishments it would be useful for the governments to hold some courses for the drivers who have an accident more that the normal ones.